The race for the Northwestern Foothills Athletic Conference’s player of the year is down to two players separated by a single stroke.

West Caldwell’s Lexton Ford has a season total of 356, and Hibriten’s Maddox Whittington’s tally is 357. Noah Bumgarner, also of West Caldwell, is within shouting distance of the lead; he trails Whittington by six shots and Ford by seven.

Whittington clawed his way back into the chase with a round of 70 on Monday at Cedar Rock, taking medalist honors and besting both Ford and Bumgarner by five shots. Fred T. Foard’s Max Cranford shot 71 at Cedar Rock and holds fourth place in the individual standings.

The Warriors ran off with the team match with a total of 331, nine shots ahead of Foard. Along with the pair of 75s from Ford and Bumgarner, Jordan Bumgarner shot 88; Caleb Pennell carded a 93, and Quinton Ford came in with 117.

For Hibriten, which finished with a team total of 387, Ethan Laws shot 95, followed by Wiley Gragg with 105. Patrick Anders finished the match with a 117, and Matthew Land closed with a 122.

West Caldwell has sewn up the team championship, leading second-place Foard by 119 shots heading into the final match of the season, which was played Wednesday at Mimosa Hills in Morganton. Hibriten is in fourth place, well ahead of fifth-place West Iredell.

Whittington and Ford were scheduled to be paired together for a head-to-head battle for the individual championship.